2015/16 Newport Pagnell Town 1-1 Cogenhoe United

Newport Pagnell 1-1 Cogenhoe United
United Counties League, Premier Division
Tuesday 14th September 2015
Willen Road, Newport Pagnell
Attendance: 101

Newport Pagnell were missing their two wide men, Darryl Smith and Sam O’Neill, for the visit of local rivals Cogenhoe United. The match started in a deluge of rain but neither set of players refused to let the conditions hinder them. There was no let up in the pace of play due to the conditions, however, it was fifteen minutes before the first real chance of the game came when Swan’s front man Josh Crawley released Lukasz Filipiak who’s vicious shot was bravely blocked by Damon Herbert. Within a minute Cogenhoe thought they had taken the lead when Taylor Orosz found the back of the net, the referee looked as if he was about to award the goal but he spotted his assistant’s flag and disallowed the effort for a foul by Orosz on Fazel Koriya in the build up.

The Cooks were quick to close the Swans down in an attempt to stifle their passing game and inevitably some challenges looked a lot worse than they actually were as players slid on the greasy surface. Towards the end of the half Cogenhoe threatened with three corners in a row but failed to create any goalscoring opportunities. In summary, the first half was busy with Newport dominating play in the middle of the park. Both sides were restricted to half chances and in reality goalkeepers Josh McAdoo and Ant O’Connor were not tested with any substantial attempts on target.


A great bit of set up play by Koriya three minutes into the second half allowed Lukasz Filipiak the space to delicately chip the ball over the on rushing keeper to put the Swans into the lead. Ten minutes later a pin point pass by Greg Ling released Filipiak who almost doubled his tally, his shot being blocked by Tom McGowan.

Newport were giving the ball away cheaply and Cogenhoe responded by having their best spell of the game as Lewis Leslie let fly with a wicked shot that was parried by McAdoo before he safely claimed the ball. The Cooks kept up the pressure as Orosz shot wide and Jack Bowen’s weak shot was saved by McAdoo.

Newport came again as Filipiak unsuccessfully attempted to lob O’Connor. Crawley and Koriya both failed to convert half chances as the Swans started to take control but once again they gave the ball away all too easily which ultimately gifted the Cooks an equaliser. A loose Newport pass was seized upon and thumped forward for the speedy Alfie Taylor to chase before coolly slotting the ball home, a well deserved reward for Taylor who’s unselfish play singled him out for praise.

The Swan’s had the chance to win the game when McGowan was dismissed for upending Koriya in the penalty area. Crawley took the resultant spot kick that was easily saved by O’Connor. Inexplicably, Leslie managed to get himself booked one minute into added time before receiving a red card for a second booking two minutes later as the game fizzled to a close.

This was a high octane, end to end encounter that was not helped by incessant rain. Chances were created but not converted as the Swans failed to capitalise on their dominance, they only had themselves to blame for not taking all three points.


HT: 0-0
1-0 Lukasz Filipiak, 48 mins
1-1 Alfie Taylor, 78 mins
FT: 1-1

Yellow Cards:
Newport Pagnell Town:
Greg Ling (65 mins)
Rob Tapp (70 mins)
Adam Pryke (77 mins)
Cogenhoe United:
Phil Cassidy (24 mins)
Alfie Taylor (73 mins)
Mark Hewitt (76 mins)
Elliot Herbert (79 mins)
Lewis Leslie (90+1 mins)

Red Cards:
Cogenhoe United:
Tom McGowan (88 mins)
Lewis Leslie (90+3 mins) (2nd Yellow)

Newport Pagnell Town:
1.Josh McAdoo
2.Rob Tapp
3.Keith Williams
4.Stuart Smeathers (c)
5.Adam Pryke
6.Liam Smyth
7.Lewis Smith (12.Scott Mulkern, 71 mins)
8.Greg Ling
9.Josh Crawley
10.Fazel Koriya
11.Lukasz Filipiak (15.Bruno Lobo Brito, 82 mins)
Unused subs: 14.Dave Baker

Cogenhoe United:
1.Ant O’Connor
2.Tom McGowan
3.Damon Herbert
4.Ross Harris (c)
5.Elliot Herbert
6.Phil Cassidy
7.Lewis Leslie
8.Taylor Orosz
9.Karl Bates (14.Jack Bowen, 56 mins)
10.Alfie Taylor (12.Harry Osborne, 90+1)
11.Dean Lukeman (16.Sam Heavey, 86 mins)
Unused subs: 15.Mark Hewitt

Referee – Mark Wetherall
Assistants – Robert Porter, Stuart Lathan

Artwork courtesy of Bravo Sierra Designs.

© Andy Gunn


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s