2015/16 Leicester Nirvana 2-1 Newport Pagnell Town

Leicester Nirvana 2-1 Newport Pagnell
United Counties League, League Cup, Preliminary Round
Saturday 19th September 2015
Gleneagles Avenue, Leicester
Attendance: 70

Nirvana returned to winning ways to get the better of the Swans in the Knockout Cup. Both sides struggled to make their passes count in a scrappy first half Nirvana had the bulk of the chances, with most coming from quick breaks following their opponent’s misplaced passes. However, the first real shot in anger came from Jordan Nelson with half an hour played, his well struck shot was saved by Mark Osborn in Newport’s goal. Ten minutes later Pearson Mwanyongo latched onto a pass, neatly collecting the ball before opening the scoring to put Nirvana ahead at the break.

The Swan’s picked up their game in the second half and started to control the midfield. Their endeavours paid off when Fazel Koriya stuck a beautiful free kick from the edge of the penalty area to put the sides level. Within five minutes Mwanyongo had two good chances to restore Nirvana’s lead. His first shot angled across the area narrowly missing the far post. Then, after a fine run down the right wing, he was superbly tackled by Stuart Smeathers but the ball somehow managed to ricochet back into the path of Mwanyongo who tested Osborn to no avail.


The game became stretched as both sides searched for a winner, with twenty minutes remaining Bruno Lobo Brito almost put the Swans ahead when his spectacular thirty five yard drive called for an equally spectacular flying save from Aaron Harris. Three minutes later Koriya tried a carbon copy free kick to the one that he scored from but this time the shot lacked power and accuracy, allowing Harris to safely catch the ball.

Neither side were able to create any decent, clear cut chances until nine minutes from time when Jordan Nelson found himself clear in the area, his low shot evading the diving Osborn to win the tie for the hosts.

1-0 Pearson Mwanyongo (41 mins)
HT: 1-0
1-1 Fazel Koriya (62 mins)
2-1 Jordan Nelson (81 mins)
FT: 2-1

Yellow Cards:
Newport Pagnell Town:
Lewis Smith (21 mins)
Rob Tapp (75 mins)
Fazel Koriya (76 mins)

Leicester Nirvana:
1.Aaron Harris
2.Sean Phillips (c)
3.Shaquille-O’Neil Brooks
4.Jahdatin Fridge-Harper
5.Alex Biggs
6.William Gonga
7.Lamar Parkes (8.Reece Morris, 71 mins)
12.Alex Paval (15.Ryan Calver, 77 mins)
9.Jordan Nelson
10.Celson Patrocinio (16.Brett Marvin, 71 mins)
11.Pearson Mwanyongo
Unused subs:
14.Luke Day
17.James Flinders

Newport Pagnell Town:
1.Mark Osborn
2.Rob Tapp
3.Keith Williams
4.Stuart Smeathers (c)
5.Adam Pryke
6.Liam Smyth
7.Lewis Smith (14.Rob MacDonald, 55 mins)
8.Greg Ling (12.Scott Mulkern, 17 mins)
9.Bruno Lobo-Brito
10.Fazel Koriya
11.Lukasz Filipiak (15.Josh Crawley, 55 mins)

Referee – Oliver Mackey
Assistants – Bruce Stevens, Paul Bonnick

Photograph by Andy Gunn.

© Andy Gunn


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s