Leicester Nirvana 2-1 Newport Pagnell Town

​Leicester Nirvana 2-1 Newport Pagnell Town
United Counties League, Knockout Cup, Preliminary Round
Saturday 26th August 2016
Kick off 15:00
Gleneagles Avenue, Leicester
Attendance: 23


The Nirvana players had something to prove in this UCL Knockout Cup Preliminary Round tie after a mediocre start to their season. Martin Sockett took the managerial reigns for the first time following the dismissal of Dave Williams after only five matches in charge. It was Newport who started brightest in the rain as they tried to take the game to Nirvana. Aftet twenty minutes the rain intensified and as the lightning lit up the sky Nirvana picked up their game. The breakthrough came when Jordan Nelson flicked the ball on for Nassor Suleiman who slotted home past the advancing keeper to open the scoring on the half hour.

The lightning storm continued overhead for the remainder of the game as the match officials seemed to be oblivious to the danger in a blatant disregard for player safety. While only seven miles away the Oadby v PNS match was sensibly abandoned after 40 minutes for “thunder & lightning”.

Both sets of players battled the appalling conditions as they tried to get a grip on the contest. The highlight came for the Swan’s in the sixtieth minute when Fazel Koriya’s cross-shot was hammered home by Dom Lawless for his 100th goal for the club. Nirvana restored their lead seven minutes later when a hard shot from Jordan Nelson crashed against the crossbar, Chris Hollist was quickest react as he drove the ball into the back of the net for the winner.

Newport had a couple of good penalty shouts turned down but failed to sustain any real threat on their opponent’s goal. Even though the Swan’s would have felt that both goals were preventable, in truth Nirvana wanted the ball more and had a greater work rate as they ran out deserved winners.


Leicester Nirvana
1. Tasiwa Nyambiya
2. Jahdatin Harper
3. Chris Hollist (c)
       [Goal 67 mins]
4. Alex Pavel
5. Tawanda Bilson
6. Mahmoud Juma
       [Yellow 53 mins]
       [Subbed 83 mins]
7. James Saldanha
8. Will Gonga
9. Suleiman Nassor
       [Goal 30 mins]
       [Yellow 65 mins]
       [Subbed 70 mins]
10. Jordan Nelson
       [Subbed 89 mins]
11. Aboubaker Cisse
12. Celson Patrocinio
       [For 9, 70 mins]
14. Ryan Calver
       [For 6, 83 mins]
15. Yaegan Gore
       [Not Used]
16. Nathan Williams
       [Not Used]
17. Alex Mushata
       [For 10, 89 mins]

Newport Pagnell Town
1. Mark Osborn
2. Ollie Wilkinson
3. Remy Forrester
       [Subbed 63 mins]
4. Stuart Smeathers (c)
5. Adam Pryke
       [Subbed 63 mins]
6. Dave Baker
       [Red 76 mins]
7. George Shrieves
       [Subbed 63 mins]
8. Liam Smyth
       [Yellow 74 mins]
9. Dom Lawless
       [Goal 60 mins]
10. Fazel Koriya
11. Paul Edgeworth
12. Junior Muya
       [For 5, 63 mins]
14. Keith Williams
       [For 3, 63 mins]
15. Darryl Smith
       [For 7, 63 mins]
       [Yellow 90+5 mins]

Match Officials

– Ryan Allison

Photographs by Andy Gunn.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s