Newport Pagnell Town 1-2 Wellingborough Town

​Newport Pagnell Town 1-2 Wellingborough Town
United Counties League, Premier Division
Tuesday 6th September 2016
Kick off 19:45
Willen Road, Newport Pagnell
Attendance: 137


It was a smash and grab raid as the Doughboy’s took all three points to put them top of the table. The Swan’s started brightly, making a couple of half chances before Wellingborough made their first strike. A long hack out of defence should have resulted in a routine clearance but somehow a miss-kick allowed Jack Wisniewski to round the keeper to open the scoring on 18 minutes. Wellingborough started to play some decent football as they exploited the gaps left behind the Swan’s front line as they pressed forward. The second half was largely a rearguard action as Newport piled on the pressure. Another long clearance found Deven Ellwood who calmly slotted home to double the Doughboy’s lead. Dom Lawless restored hope with a 79th minute consolation goal. Some determined and sometimes desperate defending maintained Wellingborough’s advantage as Newport probed for an equaliser. The Doughboy’s held out for the win that took them to the top the Premier Division.

Newport Pagnell Town

1. Mark Osborn
2. Ollie Wilkinson
3. Remy Forrester
4. Stuart Smeathers (c)
5. Dave Baker
       [Subbed 83mins]
6. Liam Smyth
7. Darryl Smith
8. Junior Muya
       [Subbed 65 mins]
9. Dom Lawless
       [Goal 79 mins]
10. Fazel Koriya
11. Greg Ling
12. Scott Mulkern
       [Not Used]
14. Dan Smith
       [For 5, 83 mins]
15. Keith Williams
       [Not Used]
16. Sam Tamakloe
       [Not Used]
17. Paul Edgeworth
       [For 8, 65 mins]

Wellingborough Town

1. Aaron Bellairs
2. Adam Speight
       [Subbed 65 mins]
3. Daniel Mortimer
4. Adam Randall (c)
5. Jake Gillingwater
6. Wes Emery
7. Justin Dowling
8. Dan Bendon
9. Alfie Taylor
       [Subbed 89 mins]
10. Deven Ellwood
       [Goal 69 mins]
       [Subbed 78 mins]
11. Jack Wisniewski
       [Goal 18 mins]
12. Dan Rogers
       [For 10, 78 mins]
14. Nathan Wiles
       [Not Used]
15. Joe Rich
       [For 9, 89 mins]
16. Dan Spaughton
       [For 2, 65 mins]
17. Josh Olowoyo
        [Not Used]

Match Officials

– Thomas Cooke
– Gary Gurney
– Russell Tunney


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s