Newport Pagnell Town 6-0 Leicester Nirvana

Newport Pagnell Town 6-0 Leicester Nirvana
Chroma Sport United Counties League, Premier Division
Saturday 25th March 2017
Kick off 15:00
Willen Road, Newport Pagnell
Attendance: 109

Swans Make Hay In The Spring Sunshine

Newport recorded their first ever victory over Nirvana side in emphatic style, scoring six against their visitors without reply. They could not have got off to a better start at a sun drenched Willen Road when they took an early lead after Arjuna Govia failed to collect Liam Smyth’s cross, Gary Brook was on hand to gratefully knock in the opening goal from close range after only four minutes. The home side doubled their lead with twenty-one minutes on the clock when a Keith Williams free kick was headed towards goal by Dave Baker, Govia made a good save but could only manage to parry the ball to Elliott Sandy who made no mistake with his header. Five minutes later Smyth superbly released Sam O’Neill who was wiped out by the advancing keeper, Dom Lawless stepped up to calmly convert the resultant penalty. Newport began to turn on the style and it was not long before Govia was called into action once again, this time diving to his left to produce a good save from Sandy’s low, hard shot as the Swans threatened to run riot. Nirvana produced their first real attempt on the Swan’s goal just before half time when Jurelle Phillip had his long range shot blocked, the striker was first to the loose ball and was again frustrated as his second effort was also blocked.


Dom Lawless scores from the spot

Newport picked up where they had left off after the break, taking only eight minutes to stretch their lead when Sean Phillips sliced his clearance straight to Lawless who mercilessly rifled his shot into the back of the net. On a rare venture forward Nirvana found some space with a well worked move that ended in Yaegan Gore’s strike being saved by the outstretched leg of Mark Osborn. However, it was only a stay of execution as Lawless scored a fine individual goal, beating three players before beating the keeper with a lovely finish from the edge of the area to claim his hat trick. Three minutes later dogged determination in midfield from Smyth saw him stab the ball through to O’Neill who had the relatively easy task of stroking home the Swan’s sixth goal. Substitutes Shaquille Master and Will Gonga had half chances to give Nirvana a consolation goal in the final ten minutes but neither managed to trouble Osborn’s goal. The Swans defence held firm to record a clean sheet as they came close to scoring another goal when Lawless saw his effort cleared off the line by Gore. The final chance of the afternoon fell to Lawless, Govia did well to tip the striker’s late shot past the post. This was a setback for Nirvana who had named a largely young and inexperienced side as they continue to rebuild their squad, the Swans had too much experience on the day as they controlled the game from the first minute to the last without ever needing to get out of first gear.


Dave Baker heads towards goal


Newport Pagnell Town
1. Mark Osborn
2. Ollie Wilkinson
[Subbed, 65 mins]
3. Keith Williams
4. Liam Smyth
5. Adam Pryke (c)
6. Dave Baker
7. Gary Brook
[Goal, 5 mins]
[Subbed, 71 mins]
8. Greg Ling
9. Elliott Sandy
[Goal, 21 mins]
[Subbed, 63 mins]
10. Dom Lawless
[Goal (penalty), 26 mins]
[Goal, 53 mins]
[Goal, 72 mins]
11. Sam O’Neill
[Goal, 75 mins]
12. Mason Coleman
[On for 2, 65 mins]
14. George Shrieves
[On for 7, 71 mins]
15. Remy Forrester
[On for 9, 63 mins]
16. Massimo Lagioia
[Not Used]


Liam Smyth controls the midfield

Leicester Nirvana
13. Arjuna Govia
2. Jahdatin Harper
3. Yaegan Gore
4. Elliott Phillips
5. Sean Phillips (c)
6. Ryan Calver
7. Karabo Motshweni
8. Rahul Parmer
[Subbed, 78 mins]
9. Jordan Nelson
10. Conor Brown-Wingfield
[Subbed, 75 mins]
11. Jurelle Phillip
[Subbed, 73 mins]
12. Will Gonga
[On for 8, 78mins]
14. Shaquille Master
[On for 10, 65 mins]
16. Gurdeep Mudhar
[On for 11, 73 mins]
17. Richard Gerald
[Not Used]


Sam O’Neill takes on the Nirvana defence

Match Officials

– Shaun Barry

– Andrew Payne
– William Hardie

Feature photograph: Liam Smyth challenges in midfield

Screenshot (87)


Photographs courtesy of Tony Webster
Report by Andy Gunn 1617/65


Leicester Nirvana 3-1 Newport Pagnell Town

Leicester Nirvana 3-1 Newport Pagnell Town
United Counties League, Premier Division
Saturday 19th August 2016
Kick off 15:00
Gleneagles Avenue, Leicester
Attendance: TBC

A minute’s silence was impeccably observed before the match to mark the untimely passing of UCL administrator Jeremy Biggs.

The Swans’ long unbeaten run, stretching back to September, was ripped to shreds by the hosts. The visitors were sluggish to start and didn’t manage to mount a meaningful attack until the twenty second minute. By then it was already too late as the home side had raced to a two goal lead. First Suleiman Nassor and then James Bessey-Saldanha calmly slotted the ball past keeper Mark Osborn and Newport’s dismal record of losing every game that they have ever played against Nirvana looked set to continue. The Swans’ luck appeared to be changing as Luke Emery knocked the ball past Aaron Harris to pull a goal back but what hope Newport had of drawing level before half time evaporated eight minutes later when Bessey-Saldanha hit a hard, low shot to score his second goal of the game.

Luke Emery scores for the Swans

The second half struggled to get going as both sides found it hard going on a heavy pitch. There were a handful of half chances for each side and as the game threatened to fizzle out Dom Lawless’ goal bound shot was saved excellently by Harris with his legs to deny the Swans a late lifeline. In truth Newport’s fate and the outcome of the game were decided in a costly first twenty minutes.


Leicester Nirvana
1. Aaron Harris (c)
2. Melanius Mullarkey
3. Mandrel Baines
4. Will Gonga
5. Elliott Philips
6. Phillip Bilson
7. Jam Bessey-Saldanha
[Goal, 15 mins]
[Goal, 37 mins]
8. Yaegan Gore
9. Suleiman Nassor
[Goal, 11 mins]
[Yellow, 75 mins]
[Subbed, 80 mins]
10. Celson Patrocinio
[Subbed, 69 mins]
11. Louis Hamilton
[Subbed, 46 mins]
12. Karol Ziniewicz
[Not Used]
14. Jordan Nelson
[On for 9, 80 mins]
15. Jurelle Phillip
[On for 11, 46 mins]
17. Nkosi Mzungwana
[On for 10, 69 mins]
18. Alex Pavel
[Not Used]

Newport Pagnell Town
1. Mark Osborn
2. Ollie Wilkinson
3. Scott Mulkern
4. Adam Pryke (c)
5. Dave Baker
6. George Shrieves
[Subbed, 64 mins]
7. Fazel Koriya
[Subbed, 80 mins]
8. Greg Ling
[Yellow, 70 mins]
9. Luke Emery
[Goal, 29 mins]
10. Dom Lawless
11. Sam O’Neill
[Yellow, 73 mins]
[Subbed, 80 mins]
12. Remy Forrester
[On for 7, 80 mins]
14. Dan Smith
[On for 11, 80 mins]
15. Keith Williams
[On for 6, 64 mins]

Match Officials

– Carl Henry

– Steve Moss
– Steve Edwards

Photographs by Wayne Harmes.

Report by Andy Gunn 1617/36